Changing Cousin It

My hair is a total wacko mess.  I am impatient with it.   I have no faith about my own judgment on styles that I’ve tried.   I feel like I shouldn’t be stuck with just one hairstyle,  especially if it is a ponytail that looks like a wild pony that just went through a tornado.  

I need a few styles that I can throw my hair into.  I would like for them to show a hippie,  bohemian look but not overly wild free spirit fake or crazy.   I need both up and down styles so that I can manage the beach,  work,  ranch,  home,  and events.   The biggest thing is that they need to be able to be completed easily and quickly because my hair is where I differ from A LOT of other women: I just don’t think that it should take much time out of my day because it’s just not that important to me. 

Besides styling it,  I can’t figure out how to CARE for my hair.   It’s always fluffy and frizzy.  Towel dry?   Air dry?   What products?   I feel like I should have this shit down since I’ve spent so much time and money trying to tame it.  I don’t even know where to start.  

Here’s a few styles I found that I like the looks.  I found them on Pinterest after seriously a couple hours of searching.   It appears they were on a blog called Brit and Co, but borrowed from other sites?

image

image

image

image

image

I’m still a having a hard time figuring out where to go to get tried and true hair information though.  I’ve tried a lot already – things that lots of articles and people swear have changed their lives.  The no-poo method (washing your hair with a baking soda and water mixture and conditioning with a vinegar water mixture) worked as well as regular shampoo and saved us money but that was about it.   Drying my hair with a shirt instead of a towel made absolutely no difference. I must have tried a hundred different products -all promising to de-frizz, smooth, moisturize, and just in general make my hair freaking amazing. 

Time for more research!   Another hour of searching gone by, hopefully this one produces better results. 

There are a few more things that seem to be a common thread across different sites that I haven’t tried yet like satin pillow cases, large combs and combing only in the shower, and no sulfur shampoo.  So I’m going to try combining all those things plus I’ll retry the tshirt drying and get some better conditioner, moisterizers, etc.  That’ll probably take a month or so before I start seeing results from all that I would assume. 

Another thing I plan on trying is the use of a diffuser instead of air drying.  It’ll be more effort in the morning but not much after I get used to it, it seems.  This blow dryer attachment looks like it will hold my curls together instead of turning me into a white girl with an afro.

Looks like I’ll be shopping Amazon and Ulta this week then. 

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

